Coronavirus information from UCLA and UCLA Health.

CNSI Personnel

Jeff F. Miller, Ph.D.

Jeff F. Miller, Ph.D.

Director of the CNSI; Fred Kavli Chair in NanoSystems Sciences

Jeff F. Miller, Ph.D., studies molecular mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis and the evolution of functional diversity in bacteria and phage. Full bio…

Sonia J. Luna, MBA

Sonia J. Luna, MBA

Executive Director

With 20 years of experience on the UCLA campus, Sonia Luna serves as Executive Director of the UCLA California NanoSystems Institute. She oversees the administrative and financial staff at the Institute and works closely with Director Jeff F. Miller. Full bio…

Heather Maynard, Ph.D.

Heather Maynard, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Technology & Development

Heather D. Maynard received a B.S. with Honors in Chemistry from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1992 and a Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology in 2000 for research in the group of Nobel Prize winner Robert Grubbs. Full bio…

Andre Nel, M.D., Ph.D.

Andre Nel, M.D., Ph.D.

Director of Research, CNSI; Distinguished Professor of Medicine; Chief of NanoMedicine; Director UC CEIN Nanosafety Center; Associate Editor ACS Nano

Andre Nel is a Distinguished Professor of Medicine and is Founder and Chief of the Division of Nanomedicine. In addition, he is the Director of the University of California’s Center for Environmental Implications of Nanotechnology (UC CEIN). Full bio…

Aydogan Ozcan, Ph.D.

Aydogan Ozcan, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Entrepreneurship, Industry and Academic Exchange

Dr. Ozcan is the Chancellor’s Professor at UCLA and an HHMI Professor with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, leading the Bio- and Nano-Photonics Laboratory at UCLA School of Engineering and is also the Associate Director of the California NanoSystems Institute. Full bio…

Leonard H. Rome, Ph.D.

Leonard H. Rome, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Facilities Management

Dr. Rome has been on the faculty of the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA since he joined the Department of Biological Chemistry in 1979. He became a full Professor in 1988 and has been Senior Associate Dean for Research in the School of Medicine since 1997. Full bio…

Adam Z. Stieg, Ph.D.

Adam Z. Stieg, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Technology Centers

Adam Z. Stieg is a Research Scientist and Associate Director of CNSI responsible for oversight of the Institute’s six Technology Centers – a collection of open-access user facilities that facilitate university collaborations with industry, and aid in the rapid commercialization of discoveries. Full bio…

Technology Center Staff

Administrative Staff

Frank Alcala

Building & Incubator Specialist

frank@cnsi.ucla.edu

Dave Avery

Director, Research and Program Development

avery@cnsi.ucla.edu

Rita Blaik, Ph.D.

Director of Education

rita@cnsi.ucla.edu

Brad Cyran

Fund Manager

brad@cnsi.ucla.edu

Deepee Gerringer

Executive Assistant to the Directors

deepee@cnsi.ucla.edu

Pierre Decastro

Loading Dock Manager

pierre@cnsi.ucla.edu

Kerry Harris

Store Worker

kerry@cnsi.ucla.edu

Carlos Inductivo

Systems Administrator

carlos@cnsi.ucla.edu

Jeff Korerat

Manager of Financial Services

jkorerat@cnsi.ucla.edu

Jordan Kovacev

Director of Philanthropy and Business Development

jkovacev@cnsi.ucla.edu

Kenneth Kuo

Business and Finance Analyst

kkuo@cnsi.ucla.edu

Lucas Lee

Audio Visual & Information Technology Manager

lucas@cnsi.ucla.edu

Nikki Lin

Director of Entrepreneurship and Commercialization

nlin@cnsi.ucla.edu

Mike Lozano

Building Manager

mlozano@cnsi.ucla.edu

Jeremy Marinoff

Business and Finance Specialist

jeremy@cnsi.ucla.edu

Kevin Quiñonez

Events Manager

kevin@cnsi.ucla.edu

Roxanne Rodillas

Academic/Staff Personnel

roxanne@cnsi.ucla.edu

Jeremy Rondon

Events Coordinator

jrondon@cnsi.ucla.edu

Marc Roseboro

Digital Communications Manager

marc@cnsi.ucla.edu

Suzanne Tsang

Senior Fund Manager

suzanne@cnsi.ucla.edu

Jaya Vaswani

Fund Manager

jaya@cnsi.ucla.edu

Adidlaos Zepeda

Systems Administrator

adi@cnsi.ucla.edu