This article was originally published by UCLA Samueli Newsroom

Mona Jarrahi, a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the UCLA Samueli School of Engineering, has been named a fellow of the American Physical Society. The fellowship program recognizes researchers who have made significant contributions in the application of physics to science and technology, as well as advances in physics through original publication.

The nonprofit organization recently announced its 2022 fellows and selected Jarrahi for her “pioneering research, development, and commercialization of plasmonic terahertz optoelectronics, enabling high-sensitivity, high-throughput terahertz sensing, and imaging systems.”

Jarrahi holds the Northrop Grumman Endowed Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering and has received many awards, including the 2021 Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize and the 2016 Moore Inventor Fellowship. She is also a fellow of Optical Society (OPTICA), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Institute of Physics (IOP), and the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE).

A member of the California NanoSystems Institute at UCLA, Jarrahi leads theTerahertz Electronics Laboratory, which focuses on new materials and device concepts to improve the performance of terahertz and millimeter-wave devices.

In addition to Jarrahi, three other UCLA faculty members were selected as the 2022 fellows: Per Kraus, Smadar Naoz and Ni Ni — all from the Physics & Astronomy Department.