Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2019 Glenn T. Seabog Symposium

November 23, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 5:30 pm

2019 Glenn T. Seaborg
Symposium & Medal Award Dinner

Saturday, November 23, 2019
Poster Session: 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Symposium: 1:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.
UCLA California NanoSystems Institute

Reception, Dinner & Medal Ceremony: 6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
UCLA Covel Commons

“The Nanotechnology Revolution”

Dr. Paul Alivisatos
Professor of Chemistry and Material Science & Engineering
University of California, Berkeley

Dr. Armand Paul Alivisatos is the University of California (UC) Berkeley’s Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. He is also the Founding Director of the Kavli Energy Nanoscience Institute (ENSI), Director Emeritus of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, former UC Berkeley Vice Chancellor for Research, and holds professorships in UC Berkeley’s departments of chemistry and materials science. In addition, he is a founder of two prominent nanotechnology companies, Nanosys and Quantum Dot Corp, now a part of Life Tech.

Groundbreaking contributions to the fundamental physical chemistry of nanocrystals are the hallmarks of Alivisatos’ distinguished career. His research accomplishments include studies of the scaling laws governing the optical, electrical, structural, and thermodynamic properties of nanocrystals. He developed methods to synthesize size and shape controlled nanocrystals, and developed methods for preparing branched, hollow, nested, and segmented nanocrystals. In his research, he has demonstrated key applications of nanocrystals in biological imaging and renewable energy. He played a critical role in the establishment of the Molecular Foundry, a U.S. Department of Energy’s Nanoscale Science Research Center; and was the facility’s founding director. He is the founding editor of Nano Letters, a leading scientific publication of the American Chemical Society in nanoscience.

About the Medal:
The Glenn T. Seaborg Medal was established in 1987 by the UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry to honor individuals for their significant contributions to chemistry and biochemistry. The medal is awarded annually. The recipient is chosen by the UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Executive Committee. Dr. Seaborg’s life, work and contributions are best characterized by one word – excellence.

To learn more, please read Dr. Seaborg’s biography. For a list of previous Seaborg Medal recipients please visit the previous recipients webpage.

for more information, please visit www.seaborg.ucla.edu


November 23, 2019
1:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Event Category:


California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI)
570 Westwood Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90095 United States
View Venue Website


UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
View Organizer Website