Members

Creating an atmosphere of scientific creativity

 

CNSI’s all-inclusive membership culture celebrates diversity, creating a welcoming atmosphere of scientific creativity where ideas that would have been impossible just decades ago now flourish as the innovations that will define the 21st century.

Membership is open to all faculty scientists who work with nanotechnology. Research at CNSI can begin with a rudimentary idea or be the result of decades of discoveries. Researchers can join CNSI with a rigorous plan for their nanoscience or they can be completely new to the nanoscale world and come to CNSI for guidance, advice, and assistance in making nanoscience a more significant part of their research objectives.

Name Dept. Title Email
Anastassia Alexandrova link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Assistant Professor ana@chem.ucla.edu
Anne Andrews link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry, Professor aandrews@mednet.ucla.edu
Katsushi Arisaka link icon Physics & Astronomy, Neurophysics Professor arisaka@physics.ucla.edu
Keriann M. Backus link icon Biological Chemistry Assistant Professor kbackus@mednet.ucla.edu
Linda Baum link icon Pathology & Laboratory Medicine Professor lbaum@mednet.ucla.edu
David Bensimon link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor bensimon@chem.ucla.edu
Laurent Bentolila link icon CNSI Director of Advanced Light Microscopy and Spectroscopy Laboratory (ALMS) lbento@cnsi.ucla.edu
Nicholas Bernthal link icon Orthapedic Surgery Assistant Professor nbernthal@mednet.ucla.edu
Carmen Bertoni link icon Neurology Associate Adjunct Professor cbertoni@ucla.edu
Andrea Bertozzi link icon Mathematics Professor bertozzi@math.ucla.edu
Louis Bouchard link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Associate Professor bouchard@chem.ucla.edu
Dolores Bozovic link icon Physics & Astronomy, Biophysics Professor bozovic@physics.ucla.edu
Jonathan Braun link icon Pathology, Molecular Pharmacology Professor & Dept. Chair jbraun@mednet.ucla.edu
Siobhan Braybrook link icon Molecular, Cell & Developmental Biology Professor siobhanb@g.ucla.edu
Nicholas Brecha link icon Neurobiology Professor nbrecha@ucla.edu
Robijn Bruinsma link icon Physics & Astronomy Professor bruinsma@physics.ucla.edu
Charles F. Brunicardi  Surgery Vice Chair of UCLA Surgical Services cbruincardi@mednet.ucla.edu
Manish Butte link icon Pediatrics, Immunology Associate Professor and Division Chief mbutte@mednet.ucla.edu
Russel Caflisch link icon NYU Mathematics Professor rcaflisch@ipam.ucla.edu
Rob Candler   Electrical Engineering Associate Professor rcandler@ee.ucla.edu
Justin Caram link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Assistant Professor jcaram@chem.ucla.edu
Gregory Carman link icon Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science, Bioengineering Distinguished Professor carman@seas.ucla.edu
Troy Carter link icon Physics & Astronomy Professor & Vice Chair of Resources carter@physics.ucla.edu
Jane Chang link icon Chemical Engineering, Materials Science Professor jchang@seas.ucla.edu
Yong Chen link icon Mechanical Engineering, Bioengineering Professor yongchen@seas.ucla.edu
Genhong Cheng link icon Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics Professor gcheng@mednet.ucla.edu
Jinwoo Cheon link icon Yonsei University, Seoul Professor jcheon@cnsi.ucla.edu
Eric Pei-Yu Chiou link icon Bioengineering & Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor pychiou@seas.ucla.edu
Chi On Chui link icon Electrical Engineering & Bioengineering Associate Professor chui@ee.ucla.edu
Peter Clark link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Assistant Professor pclark@mednet.ucla.edu
Mark Cohen link icon Semel Institute for Neuroscience & Human Behavior Professor-in-Residence mscohen@ucla.edu
Yoram Cohen link icon Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Distinguished Professor yoram@ucla.edu
Jason Cong link icon Computer Science Professor cong@cs.ucla.edu
Robert Damoiseaux link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Professor & Director of Molecular Screening Shared Resource rdamoiseaux@mednet.ucla.edu
Arjun Deb link icon Medicine & Cardiology Associate Professor adeb@mednet.ucla.edu
Linda Demer link icon Medicine Professor ldemer@mednet.ucla.edu
Timothy Deming link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor demingt@seas.ucla.edu
Christopher Denny link icon Pediatric Hermatology & Oncology Professor cdenny@ucla.edu
Suzanne Devkotalink icon Cedars-Sinai Medical Center Assistant Professor, Div. of Gastroenterology suzanne.devkota@cshs.org
Dino Di Carlo link icon Mechanical Engineering, Bioengineering Graduate Vice Chair dicarlo@seas.ucla.edu
Paula Diaconnescu link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor pld@chem.ucla.edu
Xiangfeng Duan link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor xduan@chem.ucla.edu
Steven Dubinett link icon Clinical & Transnational Sciences Institute (CTSI) Director, CTSI sdubinett@mednet.ucla.edu
Bruce Dunn link icon Materials Science & Engineering, Bioengineering Department Chair bdunn@ucla.edu

 

Name Dept. Title Email
David Eisenberg link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor david@mbi.ucla.edu
Juli Feigon link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor feigon@mbi.ucla.edu
Tim Fisher link icon Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Department Chair tsfisher@ucla.edu
Miguel Garcia-Garibay link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor mgg@chem.ucla.edu
Robin Garrell link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor garrell@chem.ucla.edu
Nandita Garud link icon Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Assistant Professor garrell@chem.ucla.edu
William M. Gelbart link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor gelbart@chem.ucla.edu
James K. Gimzewski link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor gim@chem.ucla.edu
Hilary Godwin link icon Environmental Health Sciences Professor hgodwin@ucla.edu
Thomas Graeber link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Professor tgraeber@mednet.ucla.edu
George Gruner link icon Physics & Astronomy Distinguished Professor gruner@physics.ucla.edu
Zhen Gu link icon Bioengineering Professor guzhen@ucla.edu
Ming Guo link icon Neurology Professor mguo@mednet.ucla.edu
Rishab Gupta link icon Surgical Oncology Professor Emertius rgupta@ucla.edu
David Haake link icon Medicine, Infectious Diseases Professor-In-Residence dhaake@ucla.edu
Ximin He link icon Materials Science & Engineering Professor ximinhe@ucla.edu
Kent Hill link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry, Microbiology Professor kenthill@microbio.ucla.edu
Dean Ho link icon Bioengineering, School of Dentistry Professor dho@dentistry.ucla.edu
Eric Hoek link icon Civil & Environmental Engineering Professor emvhoek@ucla.edu
Kendall Houk link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor houk@chem.ucla.edu
Tzung Hsiai link icon Bioengineering Professor thsiai@mednet.ucla.edu
Elaine Hsiao link icon Integrative Biology & Physiology Assistant Professor ehsiao@ucla.edu
Jimmy Hu link icon Dentistry, Oral Biology Assistant Professor jhu@dentistry.ucla.edu
Yu Huang link icon Materials Science & Engineering Professor yhuang@seas.ucla.edu
Jean-Pierre Hubschman link icon Opthalmology Professor hubschuman@jsei.ucla,edu
Diana L. Huffaker link icon Electrical Engineering Professor huffaker@ee.ucla.edu

 

 

Name Dept. Title Email
Subramerian Iyer link icon Electrical Engineering Distinguished Chancellor’s Professor s.s.iyer@ucla.edu
Bahram Jalali link icon Electrical Engineering Professor & Northrop Grumann Chair jalali@ucla.edu
Mona Jarrahi link icon Electrical Engineering Professor and Vice-Chair of Graduate Affairs mjarrahi@ee.ucla.edu
David Jassby link icon Civil & Environmental Engineering Associate Professor jassby@ucla.edu
Hong-Wen Jiang link icon Physics & Astronomy Professor jiangh@physics.ucla.edu
Yongho Sungtaek Ju link icon Mechanical Engineering, Bioengineering Professor jiangh@seas.ucla.edu
Michael Jung link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor mej@chem.ucla.edu
Richard Kaner link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor kaner@chem.ucla.edu
Andrea Kasko link icon Bioengineering Associate Professor akasko@ucla.edu
Abby Kavver link icon Earth, Planetary & Space Sciences Professor akavner@ucla.edu
Kathleen Kelly link icon Pathology & Laboratory Medicine Professor kkelly@mednet.ucla.edu
Ali Khademhosseini link icon Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering Professor khademh@ucla.edu
Chang-Jin (CJ) Kim link icon Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Bioengineering Professor & Volgenau Chair cjkim@seas.ucla.edu
Jenny Kim link icon Dermatology Professor jekim@mednet.ucla.edu
Jocelyn Kim link icon Medicine, Infectious Disease Assistant Clinical Professor jocelynkim@mednet.ucla.edu
Donald Kohn link icon Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics Distinguished Professor dkohn1@mednet.ucla.edu
Michael Kolodney link icon Dermatology Associate Professor & Chief mkolodney@labiomed.org
Hon Wai Koon link icon Medicine, Digestive Diseases Adjunct Associate Professor hkoon@mednet.ucla.edu
Rajan Kulkarni link icon Dermatology Associate Professor rkulkarn@ucla.edu
Michael Kuo link icon Bioengineering, Radiological Science Associate Professor michaelkuo@mednet.ucla.edu
Jason T. Lee link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Assistant Professor jasontlee@mednet.ucla.edu
Alexander Levine link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry, Physics Professor alevine@chem.ucla.edu
Raphael Levine link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor rafi@chem.ucla.edu 
Huiying Li link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Assistant Professor huiying@ucla.edu
Xiaochun Li link icon Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science Raytheon Endowed Professor xcli@seas.ucla.edu
James Liao link icon Chemical Engineering President & Vice Chair liaoj@seas.ucla.edu
Shuo Lin link icon Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology Professor shuolin@ucla.edu
You-Sheng Lin link icon Nanolab Research Facility, ISNC NanoLab Lab Manager yousheng@seas.ucla.edu
Chong Liu link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Assistant Professor chongliu@chem.ucla.edu
Wentai Liu link icon Bioengineering Distinguished Professor wentai@ucla.edu
Yunfeng Lu link icon Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Professor luucla@ucla.edu
Christopher Lynch link icon Engineering, UC Riverside Dean  christopher.lynch@ucr.edu

 

Name Dept. Title Email
Julia Mack link icon Medicine-Cardiology Assistant Professor californiajulia@gmail.com
Shaily Mahendra link icon Environmental Engineering Associate Professor mahendra@seas.ucla.edu
Sotiris Masmanidis link icon Neurobiology Assistant Professor smasmanidis@ucla.edu
Thomas G. Mason link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor mason@chem.ucla.edu
Heather Maynard link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor maynard@chem.ucla.edu
John McDonald link icon Anesthesiology Professor jm5225@ucla.edu
Huan Meng link icon Medicine- NanoMedicine Assistant Adjunct Professor hmeng@mednet.ucla.edu
John Miao link icon Physics & Astronomy Professor miao@physics.ucla.edu
Jeff F. Miller link icon CNSI Director jmiller@ucla.edu
Robert Modlin link icon Dermatology Professor rmodlin@mednet.ucla.edu
Harold Monbouquette link icon Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Bioengineering Professor, Associate Dean of Research hmonbouq@ucla.edu
Alireza Moshaverinia link icon School of Dentistry Assistant Professor amoshaverinia@dentistry.ucla.edu
Pietro Musemeci link icon Physics & Astronomy Professor muscemi@physics.ucla.edu 
Andre Nel link icon NanoMedicine Division Chief anel@mednet.ucla.edu 
Daniel Neuhauser link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor dxn@chem.ucla.edu
Kayvan Niazi link icon Bioengineering Adjunct Assistant Professor kniazi@ucla.edu
Susanne Nicholas link icon Nephrology Associate Professor snicholas@mednet.ucla.edu
Ichiro Nishimura link icon  School of Dentistry, Bioengineering Professor inishimura@dentistry.ucla.edu
Stanley Osher link icon Mathematics Professor sjo@math.ucla.edu
Aydogan Ozcan link icon Electrical Engineering Chancellor’s Professor ozcan@ee.ucla.edu
Vidvuds Ozolins link icon Materials Science & Engineering Professor vidvuds@ucla.edu
Qibing Pei link icon Materials Science & Engineering Professor qpei@seas.ucla.edu
Matteo Pellegrini link icon Molecular, Cell & Developmental Biology Professor matteop@mcdb.ucla.edu
Manuel Penichet link icon Surgery Professor penichet@mednet.ucla.edu
Michael Phelps link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Professor mphelps@mednet.ucla.edu
Richard J. Pietras link icon Medicine Professor rpietras@ucla.edu
Laurent Pilon link icon Mechanical Engineering, Bioengineering Professor pilon@seas.ucla.edu 
Seth Putterman link icon Physics & Astronomy Professor puherman@ritva.physics.ucla.edu

 

 

Name Dept. Title Email
Shahrooz Rabizadeh link icon Molecular Drug Discovery Director srabizad@ucla.edu
Jian Yu Rao link icon Pathology Chief jrao@mednet.ucla.edu
Srinivasa Reddy link icon Medicine, Gynecology Professor-in-Residence sreddy@mednet.ucla.edu
Elaine Reed link icon UCLA Immunogenetics Center, Pathology Director ereed@mednet.ucla.edu
Brian Chris Regan link icon Physics & Astronomy Assistant Professor regan@physics.ucla.edu
Jose Rodriquez link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Assistant Professor jrodriquez@mbi.ucla.edu
Leonard H. Rome link icon Biological Chemistry Distinguished Professor lrome@mednet.ucla.edu
Guy Rosenthal link icon UCLA Technology Development Group (TDG) Business Development Officer guy.rosenthal@tdg.ucla.edu
Vwani Roychowdhury link icon Electrical Engineering Professor vwani@ee.ucla.edu
Yves F. Rubin link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor rubin@chem.ucla.edu
Guarav Sant link icon Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering Professor gsant@ucla.edu
Stan Schein link icon Psychology Professor schein@ucla.edu
Jacob Schmidt link icon Bioengineering Vice Chair of Undergraduates schmidt@seas.ucla.edu
Benjamin Schwartz link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor schwartz@chem.ucla.edu
Tatiana Segura link icon Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Assistant Professor tsegura@ucla.edu
Sherven Sharma link icon Medicine Professor SSharma@mednet.ucla.edu
Shivani Sharma link icon Pathology & Laboratory Medicine sharmas@cnsi.ucla.edu
Orian Shirihai link icon Medicine- Metabolism Chair oshirihai@mednet.ucla.edu
Ellen Sletten link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Assistant Professor sletten@chem.ucla.edu
Alex Spokoyny link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Assistant Professor spokoyny@chem.ucla.edu
Enrico Stefani link icon Physiology, Anesthesiology Professor Emeritus estefani@ucla.edu
Adam Z. Stieg link icon Nano and Pico Characterization Lab (NIPC) Scientific Director stieg@cnsi.ucla.edu
Ren Sun link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Professor rsun@mednet.ucla.edu
Fuyuhiko Tamanoi link icon Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics (MIMG) Professor fuyut@microbio.ucla.edu
Yi Tang link icon Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Professor yitang@ucla.edu
Michael Teitell link icon Pediatrics, Bioengineering Professor mteitell@mednet.ucla.edu
Donatello Telesca link icon Biostatistics Assistant Professor dtelesca@ucla.edu
Joseph Teran link icon Mathematics Professor jteran@math.ucla.edu 
Kang Ting link icon Orthodontics, Bioengineering Professor kting@dentistry.ucla.edu
Sarah Tolbert link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor tolbert@chem.ucla.edu
James Tomlinson link icon Surgery, Oncology Associate Professor jtomlinson@mednet.ucla.edu
Hung Ton-That link icon Dentistry Professor htonthat@dentistry.ucla.edu
Aradhana Tripathi Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences Associate Professor ripple@ess.ucla.edu
Hsian-Rong Tseng link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Professor hrtseng@mednet.ucla.edu
Yaroslav Tserkovnyak link icon Physics & Astronomy Professor yaroslav@physics.ucla.edu

 

 

Name Department Title Email
Michael R. Van Dam link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Associate Professor mvandam@mednet.ucla.edu
Victoria Vensa link icon Design Media Arts Professor vv@ucla.edu
Kang Wang link icon Electrical Engineering, Materials Science Distinguished Professor, Raytheon Chair wang@ee.ucla.edu
Yibin Wang link icon Anesthesiology, Molecular Medicine Vice-Chair of Research, Professor yibinwang@mednet.ucla.edu
Paul Weiss link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry, Materials Science Distinguished Professor psw@cnsi.ucla.edu
Shimon Weiss link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry, Physiology, Physics Distinguished Professor sweiss@chem.ucla.edu
Benjamin Williams link icon Electrical Engineering Associate Professor bwilliam@ee.ucla.edu
Mark Wisnieswski link icon UCLA Technology Development Group (TDG) Director of Bio Pharmaceuticals mark.wisniewski@tdg.ucla.edu
Owen Witte link icon Developmental Immunology Presidential Chair owenwitte@mednet.ucla.edu
Gerard Wong link icon Bioengineering Professor gclwong@seas.ucla.edu
Jason Woo link icon Electrical & Computer Engineering Professor woo@ee.ucla.edu
Anna Wu link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Professor awu@mednet.ucla.edu
Benjamin Wu link icon Bioengineering, Materials Science & Engineering Professor benwu@seas.ucla.edu
Lily Wu link icon Molecular & Medical Pharmacology Professor lwu@mednet.ucla.edu
Ya-Hong Xie link icon Materials Science & Engineering Vice Chair of Undergraduates yhx@seas.ucla.edu

 

 

 

Name Dept. Title Email
Eli Yablonovitch link icon Electrical Engineering Adjunct Professor eliy@ee.ucla.edu
Otto Yang link icon Medicine, Infectious Disease Professor oyang@mednet.ucla.edu
Yang Yang link icon Materials Science & Engineering Professor yangy@ucla.edu
Todd O. Yeates link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor yeates@mbi.ucla.edu
Jerome Zack link icon Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics Professor and Chair jzack@ee.ucla.edu
Jie Zheng link icon Opthalmology Professor jzheng@jsei.ucla.edu
Hong Z. Zhou  link icon Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics Professor Hong.Zhou@ucla.edu
Jeffery Zink link icon Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Professor zink@chem.ucla.edu

 

 

CNSI’s all-inclusive membership culture celebrates diversity, creating a welcoming atmosphere of scientific creativity where ideas that would have been impossible just decades ago now flourish as the innovations that will define the 21st century.

Membership is open to all faculty scientists who work with nanotechnology. Research at CNSI can begin with a rudimentary idea or be the result of decades of discoveries. Researchers can join CNSI with a rigorous plan for their nanoscience or they can be completely new to the nanoscale world and come to CNSI for guidance, advice, and assistance in making nanoscience a more significant part of their research objectives.

Members by Department

Engineering

Medicine & Life Sciences

Environmental Science
Evolutionary & Ecological Biology (EEB)
Psychology & Psychiatric Sciences

Physical Sciences

Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences
 Aradhana Tripathi ripple@ess.ucla.edu

Department Website: https://atmos.ucla.edu/

Department Office:  7101 Mathematical Sciences Building 

Earth, Planetary & Space Sciences
Abby Kavver link icon

akavner@ucla.edu

Website: 

Department Office: 3806 Geology Building

UCLA Research Centers & Institutes

Center for Environmental Implications of Nanotechnology (CEIN)