Members

Creating an atmosphere of scientific creativity

 

CNSI’s all-inclusive membership culture celebrates diversity, creating a welcoming atmosphere of scientific creativity where ideas that would have been impossible just decades ago now flourish as the innovations that will define the 21st century.

Membership is open to all faculty scientists who work with nanotechnology. Research at CNSI can begin with a rudimentary idea or be the result of decades of discoveries. Researchers can join CNSI with a rigorous plan for their nanoscience or they can be completely new to the nanoscale world and come to CNSI for guidance, advice, and assistance in making nanoscience a more significant part of their research objectives.

 

Anastassia Alexandrova

Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

ana@chem.ucla.edu

Website

Anne Andrews

Professor in Residence, Psychology & Biobehavioral Sciences

aandrews@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Katsushi Arisaka

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

arisaka@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Keriann M. Backus

Assistant Professor, Biological Chemistry

kbackus@mednet.ucla.edu

Linda Baum

Professor, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

lbaum@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

David Bensimon

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

bensimon@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Laurent Bentolila

Scientific Director, CNSI Advanced Light Microscopy and Spectroscopy Laboratory

lbento@cnsi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Nicholas Bernthal

Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery

Division Chief, Musculoskeletal Oncology

nbernthal@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Carmen Bertoni

Associate Adjunct Professor, Neurology

cbertoni@ucla.edu

Website >>

Andrea Bertozzi

Professor, Mathematics

bertozzi@math.ucla.edu

Website >>

Louis Bouchard

Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

bouchard@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Dolores Bozovic

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

bozovic@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jonathan Braun

Professor & Department Chair, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

jbraun@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Siobhan Braybrook

Professor, Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology

siobhanb@g.ucla.edu

Website >>

Nicholas Brecha

Professor, Neurobiology

nbrecha@ucla.edu

Website >>

Robijn Bruinsma

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

bruinsma@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Charles F. Brunicardi

Chief, General Surgery Group and Vice Chair for Surgical Services, UCLA

cbrunicardi@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Manish Butte

Associate Professor and Division Chief, Pediatrics

mbutte@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Russel Caflisch

Professor, Mathematics

rcaflisch@ipam.ucla.edu

Website >>

Rob Candler

Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering

rcandler@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Justin Caram

Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

jcaram@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Gregory Carman

Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineeering

carman@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Troy Carter

Professor of Physics & Vice Chair, Resources

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jane Chang

Professor, Chemical Engineering

jpchang@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Yong Chen

Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

yongchen@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Genhong Cheng

Professor, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics

gcheng@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jinwoo Cheon

Professor, Yonsei University, Seoul, South Korea

jcheon@cnsi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Eric Pei-Yu Chiou

Associate Professor, Bioengineering

pychiou@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Chi On Chui

Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering & Bioengineering

chui@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Peter Clark

Assistant Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

pclark@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Mark Cohen

Professor-in-Residence, Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior

mscohen@ucla.edu

Website >>

Yoram Cohen

Distinguished Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

yoram@ucla.edu

Website >>

Jason Cong

Professor, Computer Science

cong@cs.ucla.edu

Website >>

Robert Damoiseaux

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology; Director, Molecular Screening Shared Resource

rdamoiseaux@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Deb Arjujn

Associate Professor, Medicine-Cardiology

adeb@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Linda Demer

Professor, Medicine

ldemer@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Timothy Deming

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

demingt@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Christopher Denny

Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

cdenny@ucla.edu

Website >>

Suzanne Devkota

Assistant Professor, Div. of Gastroenterology, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

suzanne.devkota@cshs.org

Website >>

Dino Di Carlo

Professor, Graduate Vice Chair, Bioengineering

Website >>

Paula Diaconescu

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

pld@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Kenneth Dorshkind

Vice Chair for Research, Professor, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

kdorshki@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Xiangfeng Duan

Professor, Chemistry & Biocehmistry

xduan@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Steven Dubinett

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research

sdubinett@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Bruce Dunn

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

bdunn@ucla.edu

Website >>

 

 

David Eisenberg

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biocehmistry

david@mbi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Juli Feigon

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

feigon@mbi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Tim Fisher

Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

tsfisher@ucla.edu

Website >>

Miguel Garcia-Garibay

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

mgg@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Robin Garrell

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

garrell@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

William M. Gelbart

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

gelbart@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

James K. Gimzewski

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

gimzewski@cnsi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Hilary Godwin

Professor, Environmental Health Sciences

hgodwin@ucla.edu

Website >>

Thomas Graeber

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

tgraeber@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Warren Grundfest

Professor, Department of Bioengineering

warrenbe@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

George Grüner

Distinguished Professor, Physics & Astronomy

gruner@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Zhen Gu

Professor, Bioengineering

guzhen@ucla.edu

Website >>

Ming Guo

Professor, Neurology

mguo@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Rishab Gupta

Professor Emeritus, Surgical Oncology

rgupta@ucla.edu

Website >>

David Haake

Professor in-Residence, Medicine, Infectious Diseases

dhaake@ucla.edu

Website >>

Ximin He

Professor, UCLA Materials Science and Engineering

ximinhe@ucla.edu

Website >>

Kent Hill

Professor, Microbiology; Biocehmistry

kenthill@microbio.ucla.edu

Website >>

Dean Ho

Professor, School of Dentistry

dho@dentistry.ucla.edu

Website >>

Eric Hoek

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

emvhoek@ucla.edu

Website >>

Kendall Houk

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

houk@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Tzung Hsiai

Professor, Bioengineering

thsiai@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Elaine Hsiao

Assistant Professor, Integrative Biology and Physiology

ehsiao@ucla.edu

Website >>

Yu Huang

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

yhuang@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jean-Pierre Hubschman

Professor, Ophthalmology

hubschman@jsei.ucla.edu

Website >>

Diana L. Huffaker

Professor, Electrical Engineering

huffaker@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Subramarian Iyer

Distinguished Chancellor’s Professor,

Electrical Engineering

s.s.iyer@ucla.edu

Website >>

Bahram Jalali

Professor and Northrop Grumman Opto-Electronic Chair, Electrical Engineering

jalali@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Mona Jarrahi

Professor and Vice-Chair, Graduate Affairs, UCLA School of Engineering

mjarrahi@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

David Jassby

Associate Professor, UCLA Civil and Environmental Engineering

jassby@ucla.edu

Website >>

Hong-Wen Jiang

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

jiangh@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Yongho Sungtaek Ju

Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

just@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Michael Jung

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

mej@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Richard Kaner

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

kaner@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Andrea Kasko

Associate Professor, Bioengineering

akasko@ucla.edu

Website >>

Abby Kavner

Professor, Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences

akavner@ucla.edu

Website >>

Kathleen Kelly

Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

kkelly@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Ali Khademhosseini

Professor, Bioengineering

khademh@ucla.edu

Website >>

Chang-Jin (CJ) Kim

Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

cjkim@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jenny Kim

Associate Professor, Dermatology

jekim@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jocelyn Kim

Assistant Clinical Professor, Medicine, Infectious Disease

jocelynkim@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Michael Kolodney

Associate Professor, Dermatology

mkolodney@labiomed.org

Website >>

Hon Wai Koon

Adjunct Associate Professor, Medicine, Digestive Diseases

hkoon@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Rajan Kulkarni

Clinical Instructor, Dermatology

rkulkarn@ucla.edu

Website >>

Michael Kuo

Associate Professor, Radiological Sciences

michaelkuo@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jason T. Lee

Assistant Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

jasontlee@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Alexander Levine

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

alevine@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Raphael Levine

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

rafi@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Huiying Li

Associate Professor, Molecular and Medical Pharmacology

huiying@ucla.edu

Website >>

James Liao

Professor and Vice Chair, Chemistry & Biochemistry

liaoj@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Shuo Lin

Professor, Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology

shuolin@ucla.edu

Website >>

Wentai Liu

Distinguished Professor, Bioengineering

wentai@ucla.edu

Website >>

Yunfeng Lu

Professor, Chemical Engineering

luucla@ucla.edu

Website >>

Christopher Lynch

Professor and Chair, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

cslynch@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

 

Julia Mack

Assistant Professor, Medicine-Cardiology

californiajulia@gmail.com

Website >> 

 

Shaily Mahendra

Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering

Website >>

Sotiris Masmanidis

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology

smasmanidis@ucla.edu

Website >>

Thomas G. Mason

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

mason@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Heather Maynard

Professor, Chemsitry & Biochemistry

maynard@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

John McDonald

Professor, Anesthesiology

jsm5525@ucla.edu

Website >>

Huan Meng

Assistant Adjunct Professor, Medicine, NanoMedicine

hmeng@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >> 

 

John Miao

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

miao@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jeff F. Miller

Director, California NanoSystems Institute

jfmiller@ucla.edu

Website >>

Robert Modlin

Professor, Dermatology

rmodlin@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Harold Monbouquette

Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

hmonbouq@ucla.edu

Website >>

Alireza Moshaverinia

Assistant Professor, School of Dentistry

amoshaverinia@dentistry.ucla.edu

Website >>

Pietro Musumeci

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

musumeci@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Andre Nel

Division Chief, NanoMedicine

anel@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Daniel Neuhauser

Professor, Chemistry & BioChemistry

dxn@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Kayvan Niazi

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Bioengineering

kniazi@ucla.edu

Website >>

Susanne Nicholas

Associate Professor, Nephrology

sunicholas@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Ichiro Nishimura

Professor, School of Dentistry

inishimura@dentistry.ucla.edu

Website >>

Stanley Osher

Professor, Mathematics

sjo@math.ucla.edu

Website >>

Aydogan Ozcan

Chancellor’s Professor, Electrical Engineering

ozcan@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Vidvuds Ozolins

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

vidvuds@ucla.edu

Website >>

Qibing Pei

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

qpei@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Matteo Pellegrini

Professor, Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology

matteop@mcdb.ucla.edu

Website >>

Manuel Penichet

Professor, Surgery

penichet@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Michael Phelps

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

mphelps@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Richard J. Pietras

Professor, Medicine

rpietras@ucla.edu

Website >>

Seth Putterman

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

puherman@ritva.physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Shahrooz Rabizadeh

Director, Molecular Drug Discovery

srabizad@ucla.edu

Website >>

Jian Yu Rao

Chief, Cytopathology

jrao@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Srinivasa Reddy

Professor in Residence, Medicine-Cardiology

sreddy@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

 

Elaine Reed

Director, UCLA Immunogenetics Center

ereed@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Brian Chris Regan

Assistant Professor, Physics & Astronomy

regan@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jose Rodriguez

Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

jrodriguez@mbi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Leonard H. Rome

Distinguished Professor, Biological Chemistry

lrome@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Guy Rosenthal

Business Development Officer, UCLA Technology Development Group

guy.rosenthal@tdg.ucla.edu

Website >>

 

Vwani Roychowdhury

Professor, Electrical Engineering

vwani@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Yves F. Rubin

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

rubin@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Gaurav Sant

Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

gsant@ucla.edu

Website >>

Stan Schein

Professor, Psychology

schein@ucla.edu

Website >>

Jacob Schmidt

Professor, Bioengineering

schmidt@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Benjamin Schwartz

Professor, Chemistry & Chemistry

schwartz@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Tatiana Segura

Assistant Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

tsegura@ucla.edu

Website >>

Sherven Sharma

Professor, Medicine

SSharma@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Orian Shirihai

Chair, Metabolism Theme, UCLA School of Medicine

oshirihai@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Ellen Sletten

Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

sletten@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Alex Spokoyny

Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

spokoyny@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Enrico Stefani

Professor, Anestheslology

estefani@ucla.edu

Website >>

Adam Z. Stieg

Scientific Director, Nano and Pico Characterization Lab

stieg@cnsi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Ren Sun

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

rsun@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Fuyuhiko Tamanoi

Professor, Microbology, Immunology, & Molecular Genetics

fuyut@microbio.ucla.edu

Website >>

Yi Tang

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

yitang@ucla.edu

Website >>

Michael Teitell

Professor, Pediatrics

mteitell@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Donatello Telesca

Associate Professor, Biostatistics

dtelesca@ucla.edu

Website >>

Kang Ting

Professor, Orthodontics

kting@dentistry.ucla.edu

Website >>

Sarah Tolbert

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

tolbert@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

James Tomlinson

Associate Professor, Surgery

jtomlinson@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Hung Ton-That

Professor, Dentistry

htonthat@dentistry.ucla.edu

Website >>

Aradhna Tripati

Associate Professor, Atmospheric & Ocean Studies

ripple@ess.ucla.edu

Website >>

Hsian-Rong Tseng

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

hrtseng@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Yaroslav Tserkovnyak

Professor, Physics & Astronomy

yaroslav@physics.ucla.edu

Website >>

 

Michael R. Van Dam

Associate Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

mvandam@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Victoria Vesna

Professor, Design Media Arts

vv@ucla.edu

Website >>

Kang Wang

Distinguished Professor, Electrical Engineering

wang@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Yibin Wang

Professor, Anesthesiology

yibinwang@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Paul Weiss

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

psw@cnsi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Shimon Weiss

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

sweiss@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>

Benjamin Williams

Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering

bwilliam@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Mark Wisnieswski

Senior Director, Bio Pharmaceuticals, UCLA Technology Development Group

mark.wisniewski@tdg.ucla.edu

Website >>

Owen Witte

Distinguished Professor, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics

owenwitte@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Gerard Wong

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

gclwong@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jason Woo

Professor, Electrical Engineering

woo@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Anna Wu

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

awu@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Benjamin Wu

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

benwu@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

Lily Wu

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology

lwu@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Ya-Hong Xie

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

yhx@seas.ucla.edu

Website >>

 

Eli Yablonovitch

Adjunct Professor, Electrical Engineering

eliy@ee.ucla.edu

Website >>

Otto Yang

Professor, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics

oyang@mednet.ucla.edu

Website >>

Yang Yang

Professor, Materials Science & Engineering

yangy@ucla.edu

Website >>

Todd O. Yeates

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

yeates@mbi.ucla.edu

Website >>

Jerome Zack

Professor and Chair, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics

jzack@ucla.edu

Website >>

Jie Zheng

Professor, Ophthalmology

jzheng@jsei.ucla.edu

Website >>

Hong Z. Zhou

Professor, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics

Hong.Zhou@ucla.edu

Website >>

Jeffrey Zink

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

zink@chem.ucla.edu

Website >>